Page 43: To keep the ball rolling

Last week I was flipping through channels on TV . Apart from a couple of shows which were selling hair growth creams , Shanni rakshak kavach , some maha shady pill to increase libido strength and the usual slim sauna belts , there was nothing worth watching. Just when I was about to give up and go read a book instead , I struck gold .

I landed up on a Raj Kumar movie .
Now , I’m not a kannadiga nor did I learn kannada in school . But , I absolutely loved the Kannada movies they made during the 90s . This particular one was called ‘chalisuva modagalu’ . Raj Kumar is a terrific actor and coupled with Ambika and Saritha plus a very good plot , he churned out a big hit for himself .

Now , when I was in primary school , we had a Videocon TV at home which played only one channel , Doordarshan . Cable TV was just taking baby steps in India . None of the international channels had yet started operations in India , partially because they didn’t know India had electricity and mostly because they thought our main source of entertainment was practicing Yoga the whole day or riding elephants . So ya , was stuck to DD and the programs it offered .

Now to think of it , DD wasn’t bad at all . They played gems like Chandrakanta , Malgudi days , Mahabharat ( the one with the prologue give by Time (Mein Samay hoon) before every episode and Alif Laila . Also , whistle worthy movies by Ambareesh , Arjun Sarja , Shankar Nag and Vishnu Vardhan were watched . My all time favorite Kannada movie was Beladhingala Bale by Anant Nag . An extremely well written movie .

On a personal front , I’m finally working on something exciting . This was something I had in mind for quite a while and its finally taking shape now. I’m super excited about this and keeping my fingers crossed . Hope it turns out just as I want it to .

Planning to write (sensible posts , unlike the one you just read)
a lil more regularly , so you will hear from me soon .

TTFN

Ps : Any tamilian readers , do watch ‘Kalakalappu Masala Cafe ‘ . Kick ass comedy , has a very Guy ritchie feel to it . Reminded me of Snatch and Lock , Stock and Two Smoking Barrels . Definitely a great comeback by Sundar C . This might very well be his second best after Anbe Sivam. Highly recommended !

PPS : Planning to sell off a couple of body organs to buy some petrol . Interested parties please reach out to me .

This entry was posted in Random, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment